London’s still

…a blog about an ordinary Australian living in London

Bu GERK! July 9, 2007

Filed under: England,Friends and Family — Annaleis @ 11:15 am

Hello, back again, this time in a tiny little internet cafe just outside the school I’m teaching in today.  Nursery, hurrah.  It’s alright really, I know the kids here and this morning the agency told me I was to be a nursery nurse, which, as you all know, only earns me about half the pay than if I was teaching.  Luckily, when I got to the school, they knew nothing about it and so I’m the ‘teacher’, so I get nearly twice as much pay for the same job!  Yay!

In other news, Mum and Dad are in London visiting and having a great time.  Yesterday I dragged them off to Brighton (Sussex), where the grains of sand can be counted easily with the naked eye, and the sun shines weakly in the cornflower blue sky.  It doens’t stop all those tough poms though, they’re wandering around all over the place with barely a whisker of clothing, imagining they’re on the Gold Coast, and getting a ‘tan’ by laying a towel on the ‘sand’ or hiring a stripey deckchair and laying veeeery still.  Lots of people where doing great lobster impressions later that day.  More photos to come.

I still managed to get burnt though.  Dammit.

Dammity damn damn damn.

The summer holidays start here on July 20,  and I’m trying to get as much work as possible between now and then, so me and th’ Ol Things can go traipsing around the countryside during the ‘summer’.

Did you hear about the floods?  Half of England is covered with water, and for the last month or so it’s been about 12 degrees maximum.  We’ve had two sunny days.  Great summer.  Tomorrow is supposed to be warmer.  It better be.  Or else.

Did I mention earlier that I have a job?  A proper full-time teaching-in-the-same-school-forever job?  I don’t think I did.  Anyway, more on that later, except to say that I start in September, around the time I go to see Prince.

Gots ta go, lunch breaks are never big enough.

Tah rah!

 

One Response to “Bu GERK!”

  1. Josie Says:

    Congrats on the job.. Whatever grade it may be!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

