London’s still

…a blog about an ordinary Australian living in London

Lifts March 7, 2007

Filed under: Ramblings — Annaleis @ 9:33 pm

What say you? Don’t tell me you didn’t notice a change?

I’ve been thinking for a long time about changing the blog, just a little nip/tuck here/there.

So here it is. It’s rather like the pub at the moment, we’re not allowed downstairs into the bar now because there are about 6 builders ripping out the bar and replacing the old dirty bits with new shiny bits.

They get here at about 7am and work for about 10 hours. That’s dedication.

Speaking of dedication, I keep getting up nice and early for school, and anyone who knows me would think that an amazing feat (I’m talking 6:45am!), but today the agency didn’t ring, so I’ve got a day off. Again.

On the bright side I’m teaching in Camden, near Gospel Oak tomorrow and Friday in a nursery! I can’t wait, the kids start school here aged 3 for some strange reason. I often wonder if starting school as a toddler makes them smarter/better behaved/more educated students in the long run. Considering the actions of nearly all the older classes I’ve experienced, the ‘better behaviour’ theory is dead in the water. These kids are usually way worse than anything I’ve seen or heard about at home in terms of behaviour. Keep in mind I’ve had kids throwing stones at me back home. Big stones. That’s nothing.
Hang on, I’m digressing…In the even longer run, after they’ve endured years of examinations during their childhood and they’re at uni, does that extra year of school as a chubby three year old really make any difference at all? I can’t say for sure, but maybe if it did then England would not have to employ so many Australian teachers to help fill their educational gaps.

If that’s the case, I’m keeping my mouth shut, so just ignore that rant.

 

7 Responses to “Lifts”

  1. Alastair Says:

    I like the new coat of paint 😉

  2. Annaleis Says:

    Thankyou for your in depth reply to my educational rant. I find your concern and insight into the matter both profound and inspiring.

  3. Alastair Says:

    I have no opinion on the british education system.

  4. Annaleis Says:

    Make something up! That’s what I did!

  5. Alastair Says:

    I killed a swan yesterday…

  6. Geoff Says:

    The kids start school early so all the London Chavs can go down to their local and get shit faced on poxy lager.

    Who pooed on your blog?

  7. Annaleis Says:

    You’re assuming the chavs get up in time to send their kids to school…yeah right. If anything they’d just be getting in the door after a lock in.
    I pood on it. You’ll cop it too if you’re not careful


Leave a Reply

