London’s still

…a blog about an ordinary Australian living in London

Internet cafe’s and agencies October 15, 2006

Filed under: England — Annaleis @ 10:51 pm

I’m here once again at Bagel Street, paying £1 for half an hour of internet time – it’s a bit spensive but it’s the closest net access to where I live.  The problem is that I came here today with the intention of putting up a bum load of photos for youse blokes to gawk at;  the computers refuse to release their CD ROM trays,  therefore rendering this trip useless.

I am also fairly annoyed at the agencies I am trying to get work through at the moment – I know work is slow etc etc right now, being the start of the school year, but surely, when I am dragging myself to schools that are an hour and a half away from where I live, with the promise of £60 for a whole days work as a teaching assistant (which, by the way is HALF that of a relief teacher’s daily wage), come payday I expect to be given the full sum that I was promised.  I checked my bank balance today and find that I have been paid £47.  Those sheisters,  after telling me that they take absolutely NO commission out of my pay they think they can shaft me, and attempt to lead me to believe that I have had £13 of tax taken out of my wage.  Let’s go through that again:  28% of my wage has been taken.  And they didn’t even send a payslip to tell me.  I’ll be having words with them.

I’m seriously considering working in a pub.

Oh, and today my bank card has decided to stop working.  I’ll be having words with HSBC too.

Grumble grumble.

 

8 Responses to “Internet cafe’s and agencies”

  1. deaddarla Says:

    ah what! theyre all muffinheads

  2. Annaleis Says:

    They sure are…I hope thesis is going OK are you on gmail right now? I could chat to ya!

  3. Josie Says:

    Hey there,
    Keep your chin up. I hear they love Aussies working in the bars over there! Or is that almost every Aussie over there is working in a bar? Have you seen lots of mini’s over there? 🙂

  4. Cass Says:

    You poor bugger. Would you like me to come over and open up a can of whoop ass on them?

  5. deaddarla Says:

    i might have been…i forget 😦 thesis is..getting there… many students are going insane! hope all is well re work, life

  6. Annaleis Says:

    Yeah Josie – there are SO many Aussies and Kiwis around here – I just got served by a guy from Lonny in the local Boots (equivalent to Priceline – Bread would love it!)
    Plenty of Minis here 😉 I’ll take some pics and create a montage for you to stick over your bed!

  7. Bread Says:

    Do you mean i would love “Boots” or the guy that worked there? Hmm…

  8. Annaleis Says:

    Definitely the shop Bread, come on, the guy was from Lonny!….and balding…


Leave a Reply

