London’s still

…a blog about an ordinary Australian living in London

The things you find August 31, 2006

Filed under: Art — Annaleis @ 12:05 am

Remember how last week I mentioned I’d been clearing out my room for my imminent departure? Well I found all my old art folders from school dating back to 1998, when I was in grade 9. It documents part of an artistic wave that I am still riding, although now I tend to keep to my small watercolours or portraiture sketches, which bloom in fits and starts each time I remember that I am supposed to be some sort of closet artist. The wave, sadly, has trickled its way down to a sticky sop at the bottom of a drainpipe, and I find myself wondering what has happened to my creativity? Then I realise that it’s all been redirected into thinking of easy things for kids to make that won’t look completely stupid when they’ve finished wrecking decorating their various ‘presents’ for their poor hapless parents.

So here I am, taking photos of the last 8 years of my artistic life. A lot was thrown out, and what I have to show for it today are the dribs and drabs that either bring back some sort of memorial twinge of the days when I painted a particular piece, or that I think are too good to throw away, because I simply couldn’t reproduce them.

Here are a few examples of the things I’ve found that are any way half decent. You can look at them full sized if you go to the new Flickr widget I’ve just added to my sidebar. 😀

handcopy.JPG watercolourlandscape.JPG watercolourmini.JPG pencilnativetreegr11.JPG

sandalwatercolour.JPG

Oh yeah, only 9 days to go before I flee the country!

 

Leave a Reply

