London’s still

…a blog about an ordinary Australian living in London

Kindergarten August 14, 2006

Filed under: Education — Annaleis @ 5:11 pm

Today I taught my very first Kindergarten class.

Oh yes, I’ve had kinder before, but only as once-off half-an-hour-at-a-time jobs for music or PE. I also taught in a K/P/1/2 class for my first year prac way back in ’02. There were five Kinder kids in that class, and I saw them for a total of four days.

My experience with this age group was very limited.

Today, however, my experience of Kindies has expanded beyond control! We indulged in making letters with play-dough, writing and decorating our names as big as we could, finger painting prints, imaginative play outside (under cover because it was raining for most of the day), threading beads to make a pattern, cutting out stars, adding glitter and using paddle pop sticks to make wands, and reading books.

I’ve got the same group again on Wednesday. I’ll be better prepared this time (it’s a bit difficult to prepare much for a year group you’ve never taught with an hour’s notice!).

Bring on the Macaroni necklaces.

billy-madison.jpg
I don’t know what’s wrong with the people in the movies.

Who really sits their kids in rows like that? Like Billy, it’s insane!

 

2 Responses to “Kindergarten”


Leave a Reply

