London’s still

…a blog about an ordinary Australian living in London

The convict draws near July 19, 2006

Filed under: England — Annaleis @ 8:28 pm

It’s mid July, and I’m still looking for the odd dollar here and there through the fine art of relief teaching. Tomorrow I’m teaching PE for an afternoon to grade 2’s and Kinders, so that should be a blast!

I haven’t heard any news about the Visa yet, but that’s to be expected, it’s only been a week or so since it was sent off. This is something I will become more anxious about as the weeks wear on, particularly now because things are starting to heat up in the teaching overseas department. Finally!

Remember The Guy? Yeah, well, his Aussie counterpart (who’s a Lovely Pommy Bloke who works in their Aussie office) has contacted me and I’ve told him what I think of discussed my concerns about The Guy finding me some work. Any work. Lovely Pommy Bloke (LPB) has promised to get the wind up him for me. We’ll see. It’s a good thing The Guy isn’t Scottish because I can only imagine what ‘getting the wind up’ someone wearing a kilt would look like 😉 Maybe it’s not such a bad thing…Hang on, I’m getting off track.

under_the_kilt_3.jpg

Dougal thought Angus didn’t have the balls to wear a kilt.

Ahem.

Right.

Anyway, I’m waiting to hear back from that mob, and this arvo one of the other agencies I’ve been in contact with (since getting fed up with The Guy) rang wanting to know if I’d be interested in teaching at a private boarding school.

This place sounds lush. Croquet lawns, horse riding, archery, dance, ski trips to France, all meals catered, tennis courts, swimming pools, movie stars…You get the drift.

Imagine me laying there, in my lofty on-campus teaching accommodation, working on school reports whilst a masseus gives my back the once-over, then a bell dings and I head down to the dining hall for my fully catered tea, then retiring after planning my lessons for the next day and a quick yet refreshing swim. Would I fit in? Would I be able to hack it? Could I stand it? Who cares! This is the stuff that teaching dreams are made of!

But…Would they have me?

Stay tuned for the next episode of… The Convict Returns!

 

4 Responses to “The convict draws near”

  1. Catherine Says:

    how awesome would that be! hope you get th job 🙂

    pmsl at the pic too…could imagine that happening to wally! LOL

  2. Annaleis Says:

    Ha ha that’s funny, I’m trying NOT to imagine that happening to Wally!

  3. Bread Says:

    Wow! The private sector sounds grrreat! Hope the kids aren’t like Veronica from the Saddle Club though (yeah i watched an episode).

  4. Anna Says:

    Funny, I found this picture posted on 19th July 2006. The day after the guy to the left in the picture told the world through national Swedish radio, that it was he in that pitcture. 🙂


Leave a Reply

