London’s still

…a blog about an ordinary Australian living in London

Boring teaching spiel, aka ‘the current currency conversion is a killer!’ June 4, 2006

Filed under: Education,Ramblings — Annaleis @ 4:51 pm

I didn't quite know what to do with myself this weekend, because of the end of term holidays and the fact that I am now unemployed as such, it seems that I am at a loose end. So far it looks like I will be doing day-to-day relief work next term unless something else pops up unexpectedly, like the last job did.

To tide me over until I leave for England, I'm pretty sure I can get a decent amount of relief work from schools I have done some pracs in, or have worked in before. Even last term, when only one school was offering me relief (because of a malfunction with the Tasmanian Relief Register, E-Pool), I was still getting one or two days a week. Next term is renowned for having ample work for relief teachers, because of the amounts of sick leave permanent teachers take. So with any luck, term two might turn out to be pretty busy!

Let's hope so anyway, because face it, with the Australian/UK exchange rate as it is, I'm going to need as much money as I can get!

Current Currency Conversion:

1.00 GBP
United Kingdom Pounds
= 2.50684 AUD
Australian Dollars

So far I have enough money for the economy class plane ticket, and a happy meal. They cost about $14 AU in England. I'd really prefer a McOz, but they might only have a McPom on the menu. I don't think i'd really be in the mood for a burger that whines every time you take a bite. On second thoughts, I might be willing to eat anything after spending 10 hours on an aeroplane with nothing to eat but the fluff off the seat in front of me.

Oh crikey, I'd better start saving big-time! What could I do for a second job? Anyone?

I suppose I could sell things on Ebay, or wait tables, or… I don't know!

Help me out here people! The trip of a lifetime depends on it!

Worst Job Ever 1.jpg

Desperate times call for desperate measures.

 

3 Responses to “Boring teaching spiel, aka ‘the current currency conversion is a killer!’”

  1. Cat Says:

    HAha, Where on earth did you find that Advert??? It’s hillarious

  2. Matt Says:

    Maccas won’t quite cost you that much over there. From what I remember, it was 3-4pounds for big mac meal, so about $7.50-$10.

  3. Annaleis Says:

    I never was very good at maths…


Leave a Reply

