London’s still

…a blog about an ordinary Australian living in London

So much to tell you May 29, 2006

Filed under: Crochet,Education,England,Oscar — Annaleis @ 7:51 pm

Hey loyalists, it's been a while since I stimulated your blogletitious appetite with yet more silly tales from the life of this particularly individual individual. I bet it's been such a nice little break too. Well, relax no more because I am back, and I've collected a lot of photos on my camera since the last time you and I cyber-clashed.

First up, sadly, there has been no update from The Guy, but still I sit writhing on my tenterhooks (because they sound so painful) and checking my Gmail constantly even though I know it's the weekend, and it's probably still Sunday in the UK when it's 8am Monday morning here…

Second up, here's some before and after shots of Oscar, both pre and post-haircut. He was pretty knotty, and we ended up leaving him on the balcony all day so the travelling groomer could wash him and give him a stylish 'do. I wished her all the luck that day. Oscar's a lively little licky thing.

oscar before haircut.JPG

Before

oscar after haircut.JPG

After

I've been doing a bit of crochet too, a bit of designing as a matter of fact. Necessity if the mother of all invention, they say, and it was a mother of a necessitry for me to create some fingerless gloves. Well, semi-fingerless anyway. The thumb and the little finger are partially covered. How else would they stay on, I ask you?

brown crochet gloves.JPG

This is 'off' mode.

brown gloves pose.JPG

'P Diddy' mode

brown gloves psoe 2.JPG

'Hands failed to block face' mode.

They're pretty warm, I've been wearing them out on playground duty.

This week is the last week I have teaching my grade 1 class. I'm going to miss those little sods, but I will particulary miss the quirky teacher who resides next-door to me. She has been a great support for me in terms of getting to know the school, and her view on life and teaching philosophy have been inspirational for me as a beginning teacher. I was trying to think of something nice to get her as a thankyou present, and after much deliberation, decided that she'd like something silly, and personal. My next door teacher keeps two pet mice for her class, and they live in a cage in the 'wet area' that joins our two classrooms. Their names are Milly (recently diagnosed as Milton) and Molly (now Molly Meldrum). So far I have made Milly, and this week I hope to get Molly done. Here he is:

milly.JPG

Milly's smiling face

milly 2.JPG

Facing stage right

milly 3.JPG

Milton has had drinking issues in the past.

Next week I intend to have the biggest sleep-in in the world, and go visit friends far and wide…and no i'm not talking about their bums!

Until then, I'd better go do some planning, find some string for a display and then maybe hit the sack before midnight. Bring on Friday!

 

4 Responses to “So much to tell you”

  1. Em Says:

    You go girl 🙂 Gotta love milton, so cute. Good work! I’m sitting on my bed in a little bedroom in the Cradle Mtn staff village… sometimes i feel so far away from everything and everyone… then I come and check your bloglet and I realize you’re only about 90 minutes away! so i get scared and go hide.

  2. malice Says:

    hello.
    i was searching for a book called ‘so much to tell you’ for a commtech class, and i came across this site.
    Its very cute.
    I love the picture of the mouse.

  3. Annaleis Says:

    Thanks Malice, was the book a John Marsden novel? That’s where I stole the name for that post from.
    It doesn’t sound right for a commtech class though 😉

  4. jekka Says:

    hi was looking for some fingerless gloves crochet pattern and came across your picture and then blog. 🙂 was wondering if it was hard to mod the fingerless gloves by adding the little pinky part. im a beginner crocheter and im having the hardest time finding a good fingerless glove pattern that actually fits the fingers individually unless your a knitter then there thousands… sorry i digress. i’m just wanting to know if a beginner could mod the fingerless crochet gloves easy or will it cause me alot of hair pulling 🙂


Leave a Reply

