London’s still

…a blog about an ordinary Australian living in London

Devon May 23, 2006

Filed under: England — Annaleis @ 8:35 pm

The rolling stone gathers no moss, and this is especially true when the ball is rolling full speed down some muddy English school-yard hill.

Over the last few days, after having sent my application off to my teaching agency, I've been referred from my Adelaide-based support guy to a UK-based support guy (who shall henceforth be known as 'The Guy'). In the last 3 days I've been contacted four times by The Guy in regards to where I want to be teaching, and living preferences, and I've sent another updated copy of my CV.

And……..(you should never start a sentence with 'and' children!)

It's paying off, I feel like I'm getting somewhere.

An overwhelming feeling that I've just let my breath out after a week of holding it has occurred because The Guy found my first potential teaching position.

It's in Devon, with a grade 1/2, and was for two terms; a 'maternity leave' position. The school looks just like it's a rural NW coast Tassie school, and boasts an amazing array of habitats including:

Banks

Hedges

A pond

Stone walls

Cob walls

Shrubbery and

Nettle beds

Sounds picturesque, don't you think? I couldn't wait to go try out those therapeutic nettle beds!

I emailed The Guy back just a little while ago and asked him to keep looking. After all, it's only the first placement he's found for me, perhaps he might come up with the perfect one!

Knightofnismall.jpg

 

ARTHUR: O Knights of Ni, you are just and fair, and we will return with a shrubbery.

KNIGHT OF NI: One that looks nice.

ARTHUR: Of course.

KNIGHT OF NI: And not too expensive.

ARTHUR: Yes!

KNIGHT OF NI: Nooowww…..GO!

 

4 Responses to “Devon”

  1. Marcus Says:

    How old are kids when they are in grade “half”

  2. Annaleis Says:

    Grade one slash two, a combined grade, you 1/2wit!
    they are 6/7/8 in grade 1/2 šŸ˜‰

  3. Bread Says:

    Mmmm devon. It sounds like something from the deli!

  4. Annaleis Says:

    I suppose I could go to Strassbourg or Belguim! You’d definitely be coming with me then!


Leave a Reply

